Recommendations Invited for National Service Awards

by: - June 9, 2020
301 Views   no discussions

The time has come again to recognise those who, in service to Dominica, have given their best.

Government has announced that recommendations are now invited to honour those who have given meritorious service.

Each year, on Independence Day, November 3rd, the President confers honours on persons who have rendered meritorious service to the Commonwealth of Dominica.

The highest recognition is the Dominica award of Honour which is conferred on persons who have made a significant contribution to the country’s development.

Each president of Dominica is bestowed with that honour but is not necessarily awarded every year.

Ma Pampo, E.O Leblanc, The Carib People (now Kalinago) and Fidel Castro have received this award.

The second highest award is the Sisserou Award of Honour.

Recipients of this award include the Dominica Government Band and Ophelia Olivacee-Marie.

The Meritorious Service Award is bestowed on citizens who have made valuable contributions to Dominica in the public sector, services sector, religion, social work, human resources, agriculture, politics and other fields.

Recipients of this award include Raymond Lawrence, WCK Band, Exile One, Grammacks, and Monsignor William John Lewis.

The Services Medal of Honour is bestowed on persons or organizations that have provided valuable contribution to the development of the country in the area of community and social development.

These awards have been conferred since 1967.

Under confidential cover, recommendations can be emailed to

or submitted to the

The Cabinet Secretary

Cabinet Secretariat

The Office of the Prime Minister

Financial Centre

Kennedy Avenue, Roseau

Deadline for recommendations is June 30.