St Kitts & Nevis to Limit Prime Minister to Two Terms

by: - November 26, 2019
294 Views   no discussions

St Kitts and Nevis Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris

Prime Minister Dr. the Honourable Timothy Harris and his Team Unity administration will make history when the Constitution of Saint Christopher and Nevis (Tenure of Office of Prime Minister) (Amendment) Bill, 2019 proceeds to its second reading.  It is scheduled on the Order Paper for the next sitting of the St. Kitts-Nevis National Assembly this Thursday, November 28 th.

If passed in the National Assembly, the landmark piece of legislation for the British Caribbean would realize the first-ever amendment to the Constitution of Saint Christopher and Nevis, which took effect on Independence Day, September 19 th, 1983.

The Team Unity Government is seeking to amend Section 52, which is concerned with the appointment of Ministers.  Specifically, it proposes the insertion of two new subsections, stating in 52 (2) A that, “Notwithstanding subsection 52 (2), a Representative shall not hold office as Prime Minister for more than two terms, whether or not served consecutively” and stating in 52 (2) (B) that, “In this section, a ‘term’ refers to the period provided for in section 31 of the Constitution.”  Section 31 is concerned with the Tenure of Office of Representatives and Senators.
Read More