Bravo’s CSK gets better of Brathwaite’s Sunrisers in IPL final

by: - May 28, 2018
8 Views   no discussions

Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Dwayne Bravo (Photo: CMC)

MUMBAI, India (CMC) — Neither Carlos Brathwaite nor Dwayne Bravo played a prominent role but Chennai Super Kings produced a ruthless run chase to crush Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets to win their third Indian Premier League title today.

Set a competitive 179 to win at Wankhede Stadium, Bravo’s CSK overhauled their target with nine balls to spare, with Australian opener Shane Watson stroking an unbeaten 117.

South African Faf du Plessis fell cheaply for 10 at 16 for one in the fourth over but Watson took command of the innings in a knock lasting 57 deliveries and including 11 fours and eight sixes.

He put on 117 for the second wicket with Suresh Raina (32) and a further 48 in an unbroken third wicket stand with Ambati Rayudu (16 not out).

Seamer Brathwaite took one of the two wickets to fall from 2-1/2 overs but was unable to contain the rampant Watson.

The West Indies Twenty20 captain had earlier blasted three sixes in a 11-ball 21 as Sunrisers, sent in, piled up 178 for six.

Captain Kane Williamson top-scored with 47 from 36 balls while Yusuf Pathan chimed in with an unbeaten 45 from 25 deliveries. Opener Shikhar Dhawan got 26 and Shakib-al-Hasan, 23.

Brathwaite put on 34 from 18 balls for the sixth wicket before falling to the final ball of the innings, after scraping just 10 runs from the over.

Bravo proved expensive, leaking 46 runs from his four overs and accounting for Shakib, caught at cover in the 16th over.