Alix Boyd-Knights re-elected Speaker

by: Dominica Vibes News - February 20, 2015
499 Views   no discussions
Speaker of the House of Assembly, Alix Boyd Knights

Speaker of the House of Assembly, Alix Boyd Knights

Alix Boyd Knights was on Friday re-elected as Speaker of the House of Assembly of the Commonwealth of Dominica for a fourth consecutive term, making her the longest serving speaker.

Mrs Knights, who has been the Speaker of the House of Assembly since 2000, was re-elected with twenty-one (21) votes during the first meeting of the first session of the ninth parliament on 20 February at the House of Assembly on Victoria Street, Roseau.

This is the first meeting of Parliament following the 2014 general election in which the Dominica Labour Party regained power with fifteen seats while the United Workers Party won six seats.The first order of business for that sitting was the election of the Speaker of the House.

The Opposition United Workers Party, led by Lennox Linton, announced former Dominica Freedom Party leader Judith Pestaina as its nominee. She obtained ten (10) votes.


Mrs Knights was escorted into Parliament by Justina Charles, who proposed her nomination and Ian Douglas who seconded the nomination.

“I wish to thank the Honorable Members here for voting for me for, for electing me once again for the fourth term to be the Speaker of this Honorable House, I am gratified, I am honored and I thank them and I thank the Lord for bring this day about in my life. Thank you Lord,” Mrs Knights said.

Thirty-one (31) members of Parliament voted in Friday’s election in the following order; Roosevelt Skerrit, Levi Peter, Reginald Austrie, Ian Douglas, Rayburn Blackmoore, Dr John Collin McIntyre, Petter Saint Jean, Dr Kenneth Darroux, Justina Charles, Edward Registe, Kelvar Darroux, Johnson Drigo, Casius Darroux, Ivor Stephenson, Francine Baron, Robert Tonge, Miriam Blanchard, Roselyn Paul, Ian Pinard, Lady Catherine Daniel, Jahisiah Benoit, Lennox Linton, Hector John, Ezekiel Bazil, Daniel Lugay, Joshua Francis, Joseph Isaac, Monell Williams, Felix Thomas, Isaac Baptiste, Dr Thomson Fontaine.

Senator Edward Registe, the government’s nominee for deputy speaker, was elected unopposed.