Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court Opens New Law Year 2021

by: - January 14, 2021
141 Views   no discussions

Wednesday 13, January 2021, marked the opening of the Law Year 2021 for the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

The Opening of the new law year was held virtually and consisted of two parts – a virtual Church Service and a Virtual Special sitting of the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court.

This special sitting was held under the theme “The ECSC: Managing the COVID-Quake!”

President of the OECS BAR Association, Ms. Jean Dyer, stated during the Special Sitting of the Opening of Law Year 2021 that despite COVID-19, there is much more than the association should do in the upcoming year.

“It is our intention at the OECS bar to continue to strive to fulfill our mandate, she said.

“At the forefront of the OECS bars, commitment to excellence is the need to ensure high standards and quality lawyering. Knowledge is not static and to be in ignorance is disastrous. We therefore need to continue to sharpen our mental saw so that we can maintain our cutting edge in practice. The OECS bar intends to continue to drive professional excellence within the OECS.”

The OECS Bar Association also recognizes the challenges faced by new entrants to the profession.

Dyer says the association’s training will target junior practitioners and particularly those who are sole practitioners.

Meanwhile, President of the Dominica BAR Association, Heather Felix-Evans says the Bar Associations of the member states and territories agree that the COVID-Quake affected every member.

“The experience was hitherto unimaginable and the impact was forceful however despite the many challenges it brought COVID-19 exposed the better angels of our nature.”

She described law year 2020 as a year of extraordinary sharing of easy access to endless opportunities for continuing legal education and of embracing modern technology.

In so doing, the President of the Dominica Bar Association welcomed law year 2021.

“We welcome Lawyer 2021 with an indefatigable spirit and with confidence that whatever the circumstances, we shall never cease to carry out our responsibilities to our members, the judiciary, and the public at large,” President of the Dominica BAR Association, Heather Felix-Evans.

The Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (ECSC) was established in 1967 by the West Indies Associated States Supreme Court Order No. 223 of 1967.

The ECSC is a superior court of record for the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS), including six Independent States: Antigua and Barbuda, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, St. Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines; and three British Overseas Territories: Anguilla, The Virgin Islands, and Montserrat.

The Court has unlimited jurisdiction in each Member State and Territory