Five More to be Inducted into Calypso Hall of Fame

by: - February 14, 2020
237 Views   no discussions

The Dominica Calypso Hall of Fame will induct five candidates during its special 2020 Ceremony on Friday, 14 February at Fort Young Hotel.

The inductees are Mr. Andrew “Scrunter” Bazil, Mr. Valentine “Young Bull” Cuffy, Fr. Brancker “De Brakes” John, Mr. Patrick Roland “PJ” John and Mr. Julian “Superior Pickey” Lockhart.

The candidates who have been chosen have attained an appreciable review in the areas such as longevity/consistency and achievement as these relate to the development and practice of Calypso.  Some candidates have also produced/written/performed timely and timeless songs, and all of them have been dedicated to the art, practice, integrity and spirit of Calypso. They also show leadership and management of Calypso, and have impacted or changed the art form for the better.

The Induction Ceremony has been held every four years since 2008.

The 2020 candidates will join Slinger “The Might Sparrow” Francisco, Osborn “Ossie” Lewis, Patrick “Pembo” Pemberton, Roosevelt “Mico” Williams, Kelly “Ras Kelly” Williams, Norman “Ency” Cyrille, Roland “Spider” James, Hayden “Tokyo” Desire, Ulrick “Idol” Jackson, Melvin “Solo” Constant, Cleveland “Hurricane” Jean-Jacques, Gregg “Breaker” Bannis, Pat “Musician” Aaron, Vaughn “Shakey” James and The Swingin’ Stars Orchestra in the Dominica Calypso Hall of Fame canon.