Updated: Fifteen Third-Countries Allowed into EU for Essential Travel, Caribbean Excluded

by: - June 30, 2020
4250 Views   no discussions

Dominica Vibes reported on Tuesday that Dominica was on a draft list of 54 countries permitted to enter the EU when borders reopen there.

Last week, the EU Commission was planning to permit the citizens of 54 countries to enter, of which Dominica was named along with six other regional nations. Today, Schengen Visa Info confirms that that list has been narrowed down to 15 third-countries considered safe.

Third-countries are countries where individuals are in transit and/or are applying for visas to go to a destination country that is not their country of origin.

Non-essential travel is not yet an option for the listed third-countries since borders are closed for that purpose.

As of July 1, residents of Algeria, Australia, Canada, China (subject to reciprocity), Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, will be permitted to enter Europe.

Travellers from these countries must first check with the EU country they wish to visit, as the Member States are permitted to exclude some of the countries from the list when it comes to who can enter their borders since the policy is not legally binding.

Schengen Visa Info reports that citizens of Brazil, Qatar, the US and Russia will only be able to enter Europe at a later date when the epidemiological situation in these countries improves.

“The European Union has an internal process to determine from which countries it would be safe to accept travellers,” EU Commission spokesman Eric Mamer said last Thursday, adding that its decisions are “based on health criteria.”

On June 11, the Commission presented its recommendation on the reopening of internal Schengen borders on June 15, so that Europeans can travel within the borderless area freely, just as they did pre-pandemic.

At the same time, the Commission recommended that the Member States should start allowing third-country nationals to enter the EU starting from July 1, gradually and partially, based on the epidemiological situation in each third-country.

The Commission recommended the following objective criteria for the Member States, when drafting the list of countries, the citizens of which may visit the EU after July 1:

  • epidemiological situation and coronavirus response in that country,
  • the ability to apply containment measures during travel, an
  • whether or not that country has lifted travel restrictions towards the EU.